RUSTIC CHOKES

ALL CHOKED UP

choke

I’m getting all choked up now,

FOOD-GUY

I really love chokes and they love me too. My favourite way to eat them these days is real simple style. I go rustic all the way on this one! I steam them until tender (8 to 12 minutes depending on size) I then pull off some of the petals, scatter them on a plate along with the choke hearts… drizzle with liquid gold (thats argan oil by the way) a squeeze of fresh lemon Juice and sea salt. Then the love affair begins…. eating artichokes is a whole experience.. I believe that its a rather intimate affair actually…. one by one you pick up each petal, you put them in your mouth and nibble on the tenter parts near to the base. Dip them into scatterings of sea salt that rest on the edge of the plate, add a touch more argan oil or a drop of lemon juice… each bite is a unique sensual experience…. every time I sit down to a plate of artichokes I have to pinch myself to check if I’m dreaming or if I died and went to heaven or perhaps entered into a 5th dimension or something.

RECIPE

artichokes (2 medium sized chokes per person) or more if you like

2 lemons (cut into wedges)

4 Tbsp argan oil (use extra virgin oil if you can’t find it)

sea salt to taste (don’t be scared of salt… I know it gets plenty of bad press… if you have high blood pressure and have been advised by your doctor to reduce salt intake then take the advise, otherwise for many others we do actually need some salt in our diet to be healthy)

RUSTIC

This plate is rustic for sure….

RUSTIC: of or relating to the countryside; rural. constructed or made in a plain and simple fashion, in particular.

synonyms: plain, simple, homely, unsophisticated.

GLOBE ARTICHOKES

The globe artichoke (Cynara cardunculus var. scolymus) is a variety of a species of thistle cultivated as a food.

The edible portion of the plant consists of the flower buds before the flowers come into bloom. The budding artichoke flower-head is a cluster of many budding small flowers (an inflorescence) together with many bracts, on an edible base. Once the buds bloom, the structure changes to a coarse, barely edible form. Another variety of the species is the cardoon, a perennial plant native to the Mediterranean region. Both wild forms and cultivated varieties (cultivars) exist.

Leave a Reply

